BioRender illustrations are designed to autosave with every change you make. However, there are certain situations that may cause autosave to fail. Usually, the reason why changes are lost is:
(a) Your BioRender account was logged out in another tab, window or on another computer, or
(b) Your tab, window, or browser was closed while the illustration was still saving
(c) You have lost your internet connection
If this happens to you, don't panic. There are some measures put in place in BioRender that should allow you to recover your work.
How to recover lost changes:
If you happen to lose changes to your work, do not fear: BioRender saves your image once per minute and places it into an archive called your Version History. You can access any illustration's Version History from one of two places:
(1) From the Canvas view
If you are currently working on the illustration, you can find the "Version History" button in the top toolbar of the canvas view.
(2) From Your Gallery
You can also access Version History directly from the image's thumbnail in your Gallery (the homepage of your BioRender account).
The Version History will contain one version of your illustration for every minute that you've worked on the illustration. You can recover any of these versions by clicking "Recover this version".
To ensure your illustrations save correctly...
1) Double check that changes have been saved.
Before closing the tab or window containing your BioRender illustration, check the top right corner of the canvas screen. You'll know that all changes have been saved if the message reads: "All changes saved."
2) Manual Save
Press the Save button in the top left corner of the canvas toolbar to manually save the illustration.
3) Don't leave without saving
If you are trying to leave an illustration and a window appears that reads: "Leave site? Changes you made may not be saved.", the latest changes to your illustration may not have been saved. If this happens, press Cancel, save your changes manually, then exit the browser tab or window.
4) Make sure you are connected to the internet
BioRender cannot save changes while disconnected from the internet. If you try to manually save and a window pops up that says "We could not save your changes. Please check your internet connection." it could may mean that your internet connection has been disrupted (or it could mean that you've been logged out of your account, see (5) below).
If you get this message, check your internet connection. If disconnected, reconnect to save changes. If your internet connection appears to be working normally, see (5) below.
5) Make sure you're logged in
If you or somebody else logs out of your BioRender account in another tab, window, browser, or computer while you are still editing an illustration, this may affect saving. To ensure that your illustrations save correctly, make sure you are still logged in. If you are experiencing problems saving, refresh the page to check if you've been signed out. If so, log back in to continue editing.
If you try to manually save, and a window pops up that says "We could not save your changes. Please check your internet connection." it could may mean that you have been logged out elsewhere (or it could mean that your internet is disconnected, see (4) above).
Tried everything and still experiencing issues?
Please contact our support team at firstname.lastname@example.org if you are unable to recover your lost changes or if you're having problems saving your illustrations after trying the above.